Movie Madness – Everest

non-spoilery ramblery  (+ previous Movie Madness posts)

I didn’t even know there was going to be a film about Everest. I just saw the trailer when I went to see, umm The Scorch Trials was it?, and thought it looked cool.

everest_xlgI’ve seen one mountain climbing film before this, I think I was twelve or something, and I have to admit that I got a bit traumatised. xD Being the anxious person that I am, a tense movie about people in secluded extreme conditions who struggle to breathe is not the most relaxing experience.

So I was kind of anxious already before the movie started. And it had me on the edge of my seat the whole two hours. But surprisingly it wasn’t an unpleasant experience. I really enjoyed this movie and it has stayed with me long after I saw it.

I can’t really explain why. Everest is not one of my favourite movies but it has something special in it.

What got me was the true story aspect. At some parts of the movie I thought Hollywood did their own thing to make things either more emotional or dramatic or whatever. Then later I listened to a interview on the radio where Finnish mountain climber Veikka Gustafsson told his story. He was there in 1996 when the events of the movie happened. From that interview I figured that the film is very loyal to the true events.

The special effects were stunning. Just being on top of the world above the clouds. Wow. 3D worked well. When the storm hit the whole theatre started to shake and it was awesome.

This movie makes you respect and wonder nature which in itself is a great outcome.

3 thoughts on “Movie Madness – Everest

Leave a Reply

