Movie Madness – Traumatized by a Bear

It’s 11.30PM at Saturday night and I’m at my parents’ for the weekend. We have just arrived home with my Mom. (The weather was really bad, the roads were icy and it was snowing. I love driving in that kind of weather.)

We went to see the Revenant.

(Finally. I went to see it with my friend a couple of weeks ago and long story short I couldn’t find a place to park the car and was too late.)

I’m not going to go into great philosophical dephts about how impressive this movie is because I’m too tired but here’s what I got to say:

Leonardo DiCaprio is Oscar worthy. Can’t wait for the awards. Also Tom Hardy does an amazing job. I ended up liking Domnhall Gleeson too. 

The cinematography is just stunning. Breathtaking. I haven’t seen anything like it in any other film. Everything is just genious. Nature is an amazing thing. This movie makes you respect it.

Despite all the glorious nature shots, the film is strangely intimate. The close-ups make you feel like you’re there. Literally. To the point it’s a bit creepy. 

The bear scene is even more brutal than I was expecting. I’m always a sucker for animals. I was covering my face with my hands more than once. (I also cursed under my breath a lot to this particular character at the end.)

Only downside is that the movie is a tad too long. I got distracted about two thirds in. (Maybe it was because it was late.) Anyway I got restless.

A must-see film this season definitely.

6 thoughts on “Movie Madness – Traumatized by a Bear

  1. This movie was amazing! I covered my eyes too in some scenes hahaha
    That bear scene was really scary! Though deep down I carry so much love for bears, and went hiking alone in bear inhabited areas and wasn’t scared of coming across one, but that scene kinda changed that view I had of them!
    The whole movie is epic!

    Like

  2. It was such an interesting movie but I agree that it was maybe a little bit too long… All the actors did a wonderful job and I loved the scenery! Leo’d better finally get his Oscar from this movie lol : D

    Like

Leave a Reply

